STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT CS-85-837

Order Establishing Minnesota Jury Standards Committee

WHEREAS National Standards Relating to Juror Use and Management have been developed and have been adopted by the American Bar Assocation,

WHEREAS efficient court administration will best guarantee the preservation of the jury system and enhance the quality of the decision-making process,

WHEREAS the jury system provides citizens with an opportunity to learn, observe and participate in the judicial process, and

WHEREAS courts must insure that jury resources are utilized to the maximum degree of efficiency, while minimizing inconvenience to individual citizens,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that a thirteen person committee designated as the Minnesota Jury Standards Committee be, and hereby is, established to review and make recommendations to the Supreme Court on the implementation of the American Bar Association Standards for Juror Use and Management.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following named persons be, and hereby are, appointed as members to the Minnesota Jury Standards Committee:

Hon. James L. Mork Freeborn County Courthouse Albert Lea, MN 56007 (507)377-5166 Kelton F. Gage P. O. Box 3049 Mankato, Mn 56001 (507)345-1166 Sue K. Dosal Supreme Court of Minnesota 230 Capitol St. Paul, MN 55155 (612)296-2474

Vivian Jenkins Nelson Humphrey Institute 909 Social Service Building 267 19th Avenue South Minneapolis, MN 55415 (612)376-2221

Michael R. Sieben 999 Westview Drive Hastings, MN 55033 (612)437-3148

Hon. Stephen L. Maxwell 1309 Courthouse St. Paul, MN 55102 (612)298-4808

Donald Cullen 401 N. Main Street, Suite 202 Austin, MN 55912 (507)437-7741

Hon. Sheryl R. Hvass C-951 Hennepin County Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612)348-4740 Joseph Lasky Office of Clerk of Court St. Louis County Courthouse Duluth, MN 55802 (218)726-2436

Sen. Keith L. Langseth Route 2 Glyndon, MN 56547 (218)498-2580

Rep. Adolph L. Kvam 25 W. Lockenbie Litchfield, MN 55355 (612)693-8275

D. J. Hanson Beltrami County Courthouse Bemidji, MN 50601 (218)751-7300

Barbara Hiles 1303 S. 6th Street Stillwater, MN 55082 (612)439-6341

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Honorable James L. Mork be, and hereby is, appointed as chairman of the committee.

Dated: May 7, 1985

BY THE COURT

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS FILED

MAY 7 1985

-04 Douglas K. Amdahl, Chief Justice Minnesota Supreme Court

WAYNE TSCHIMPERLE CLERK